Hill of Tara – Some Laws Defy all Ages and Time

Remember four key thoughts that entered my brain at some point Thursday morning and we will see how they play out later in this post. Today I remembered universal truths transcend time and history.

My Thoughts of the morning of September 18th, 2014

1) I definitely need to wake her up before 9:00 am because I don’t want to wait until almost noon to get the day rolling…

2) I have no desire to put my hiking boots on and stomp around this morning if I might not even need them…

3) I don’t want to park at the far end of this car park and have to walk all across to get back to the visitors center at the Hill of Tara sight…

4) I don’t want to carry that guidebook with me all day and up the hill…

First rule of visualization. The Universe/God never hears the word don’t! If it’s a thought in your head either negative or positive it is likely to happen! So before I get to all the great stuff that recaps our day let me tell you a little story about the period from 10:45 am until almost noon on Thursday morning. It’s actually so ironic I can’t help but laugh about it and hopefully learn.

We woke up on Thursday morning in the quite little town of Newgrange which is just north of the River Boyne. The area is about 100 km north of Dublin and oh so different than the big city. The night before I had done my first spell of Irish style night driving so I promptly rewarded myself in an Irish way with a couple of pints of Guinness at the local pub called Rowley’s, which happens to be attached to the hotel. We sat at the bar with two construction workers from Cork (who we could barely understand) and a young local guy named Aaron who was about 25 if I had to guess. He was a bit round with a long blond pony tail and a giant smile. The conversation was easy and it was exactly the off the beaten path tonic we needed after our time in Dublin.

In the morning after a delightful sleep in our huge room with four beds (apparently the only room they had left was designed for families) we set out on our journey to explore a few sites of ancient and spiritual Irish history. In typical fashion I was up and itching to get going early, but we’ve learned to negotiate an appropriate compromise on what time our day starts over the last few vacations. As I said above my goal was to wake Christiana up about 9:00 am for a proper Irish breakfast after a pretty late night. Everything went mostly  as planned and after a plate full of eggs and rashers we cleaned up and hit the road.

unnamed-6Our first stop was the Hill of Tara. In short the Hill of Tara is an ancient a passage tomb which served as the seat of the high Kings of England around the turn of the first millennium AD. Currently it’s what I would call a less visited tourist attraction because of it’s location and lack of high impact physical sights. Let me tell you though, even if the monuments at Tara are on the small side, the energy is immense. More about that later after the funny stuff.

As we pulled into the parking lot I chose the first space I saw which was right next to the small visitors center near the entry. In my usual rush to get the process started I got out of the car, looked around and started to gather my things. I decided to travel lightly with just my sweater, a newsboy cap, a scarf and sunglasses because I wanted to get a move on and we had to do some climbing to get to the top of the hill. It didn’t look like heavy climbing so as I said above I thought it would be fine to leave my tennis shoes on instead of changing into my boots. After a quick stop at the toilets we started our walk across the parking lot and up the hill which took us past an old church that was swarming with ravens, through a few odd contraptions called sheep gates and into a field of grass with lots of sheep dip scattered about. The beginning of the grass field is the start of the real Tara experience with it’s two ancient passage tombs, a monument to male potency and a pretty amazing wishing tree that Christiana and I could have sat with for an entire day. As we took our first steps into the grass we realized it was a bit damp and uneven under foot. Christiana asked me if I thought we should go back to the car and put our boots on and in my eager desire to push on I said, “We’ll be fine…”

We walked about 40 meters into the field and she asked me a question about the first hill that we were approaching. I told her I didn’t know the answer and she then asked me where the Rick Steve’s guidebook was. I told her I left it in the car because I didn’t want to carry it up the hill. I just wanted to be in the experience. This of course did not sit well with her so after a bit of consideration we mutually agreed that our entire experience would be enhanced if we walked back down to the car, got the book and changed into our boots. Begrudgingly I started the walk back to the car realizing that nearly everything I had tried to avoid doing in my haste to get started was about to happen anyways. As we walked down the hill we laughed at the Universe for mocking us as we like to do in many of these similar situations. As we got back to the car park I realized that the space I chose was the closest to the visitors center and the furthest from the entry to the hill so we walked across the parking lot, opened the car, changed into the boots that I didn’t want to wear and grabbed the guidebook I didn’t want to carry. By this time we’d even forgot but what the question was we needed answered but we took the damn book anyways just in case.

unnamed-7We walked back across the parking lot, up the hill past the church with the death-eater like ravens and re-entered the slightly damp and uneven grassy field beyond the sheep gate. As we re-started  started our journey to the top of the hill I coincidentally pulled my phone out of my pocket and looked at the time. 11:57 a.m. I immediately flashed back to point number one of this very blog where I thought,”I definitely need to wake her up before 9:00 am because I don’t want to wait until almost noon to get the day rolling…”

As we like to say in our world, “And the genie says…your wish is my command!” My most powerful thought of the morning was that I didn’t want to wait until “almost noon” to get the day rolling, so at 11:57 a.m. at the base of the Hill of Tara I was reminded  that divine power, or whatever it is you choose too call it in your world, doesn’t ever hear the word “don’t” so choose your thoughts wisely!”

At that same 11:57 a.m, or as I like to refer to it now, “almost noon” we started on an 8 hour journey through some of the most powerful vibrations I have felt in my lifetime. We walked barefoot on the hills and absorbed the energy of thousands of years and millions of souls. We sat underneath a wishing tree that by legend is a portal to pixies and fairies of ancient Irish lore. We earthed ourselves in the sheep fields by lying flat along the ground for what seemed like hours but was probably only minutes. Most of the time we found ourselves completely alone as the sparse amount of other less interested tourists came and went quickly. Every once in a while a small group would pass through. One group came with a guide so we got the benefit of hearing some stories. Each time we were alone though the sun seemed to peek out from behind the clouds as if to re-assure us that the hill, the tree and the spirits were happy that we were taking the time to savor.

It was hard to pull ourselves away from the tremendous energy of the Hill of Tara but eventually we managed and as we did so I realized that it was only a few days ago that I’d ever heard of this place. On a whim before we left I Googled, “Irish energy vortices” and came up with a Youtube video of a couple who were at the Hill of Tara in the middle of winter on one of the coldest days in an Irish winter. They were all by themselves. I thought to myself, “I really would love to have that experience minus the cold weather!”

So in the middle of September on a perfect fall day, Christiana and I got our moments of time alone with the Hill of Tara just like that other couple got minus the cold weather. As we left I accidentally turned the wrong way out of the parking lot and before I could turn around Christiana said, “Look there’s the well that the one guide was talking about.” We stopped the car, this time with my conquering my haste to move on. We made one last wish in the well and I’m fairly certain that the rest of our journey will be followed by the required amount of Irish pixies along the way.

Later in the day we visited Newgrange which by most accounts is the premier passage tomb in all of Ireland. It was a truly amazing experience as well. For my time and energy though I’ll take the trip to the Hill of Tara again and again in my mind. Hopefully that mind will be a mind that remembers exactly how it wants to think.

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

