A Saturday Drive with Reminders

Do you ever get caught in traffic that starts to make to go absolutely bonkers? It’s a cumulative effect for me. I can handle small doses, but when it seems like every street you turn down has one lane closed and a sea of tail lights shining red I start to lose my mind. I begin to slip into that mental place that I don’t prefer to go to where I think it must be a conspiracy directed specifically at ME!  At one point in the middle of the day on Saturday I was about to put up a Facebook post that would have looked something like this.

“I cant believe I’ve spent almost seven hours in my car over the last 24 hours and I’m only traveling around Chicago!!!!!!!”

Then I had a wave of thoughts that made me stop. It started with the first thought listed below, but over the next ten minutes it kept coming like a ray of warm sunshine and my focus began to take a complete shift. I am grateful for the lesson…

1) I shouldn’t text and drive

2) I don’t prefer it when people bitch about their trivial inconveniences on social media

3) The reason I am driving is to see friends, my wife, my recently engaged sister, my Mom, to go to amazing dinners at places where I get significant discounts since I work for a wonderful company

4) I get to eat food like fresh king crab, dry aged prime steaks and risotto with fresh white truffles that many people can only dream of eating

5) I’m blessed to have a wonderful vehicle to sit in while I am doing all this driving

6) I have Spotify deluxe on my iphone thanks to my lovely wife so I can listen to pretty much anything on the planet I desire

7) The weather in the fall is perfect for driving with the windows and the moonroof slightly cracked

8) I’m lucky to even have things like an iphone and a moonroof

9) The people who are doing all this construction work are fortunate to have the opportunity to get a lot of work at a time in the year where things would typically winding down

10) I have a pretty amazing life with things just the way they are, weekend Chicago traffic included

unnamed-7I spent about another hour in the car after that wave of thoughts. I put on the music Christiana and I listened to while we were driving around Ireland. I replayed that one particular tune called The Drowning Plains that always gets me choked up. I looked at city skyline as it glowed in the setting sun. Then I thought about something I learned a couple of months ago at the Infinite Possibilities workshop with Mike Dooley. If I had one wish and I could wish for anything I wanted what would I wish for?

I’d wish for things to exactly as they are at this exact moment. Never forget you hold the keys to the universe at every moment of your entire life. Next time your stuck in traffic use those keys wisely…

 

 

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

