And Now For Something Completely Meaningless

Welcome to my outtake story of a purely material, self serving manifestation for the week of the winter solstice. I suppose in ancient times if you were going to get presents for a December holiday it certainly wouldn’t have been for Christmas so my winter solstice present to myself is a throwback to thousands of years ago. Um, ya we’ll just go with that.

After work on Friday I was armed with a couple of gift cards that I got from customers as holiday gifts. I was also armed with about an hour to kill before our dinner out with friends at Frankie Scallopini. Solution? A visit to Nordstrom Rack. Now overall I’ve been much more frugal that normal in 2014 so a visit to one of my favorite stores with some “free money” was a holiday bonus! I picked out a couple of new shirts from the clearance racks. I also grabbed a few pairs of those crazy multi-colored socks. As I was heading to the check out I considered whether or not I should browse the men’s shoes. Hmm?

For about two years now I’ve been lusting after the perfect pair of men’s dress boots. I’ve looked at every DSW, every Nordstrom Rack, every clearance sale anywhere they have nice mens shoes. I’ve just never found the exact right pair that I knew were meant for me. In my mind the perfect boots are somewhat fancy looking yet still a bit rugged. They have a chunky heel but not quite Doc Martin chunky. They lace up and don’t have that quick-escape side zipper that so many men’s boots have nowadays. They are definitely black. In my dream world they are made by my favorite men’s shoe designer, Detroit’s own John Varvatos.

unnamed-13Sure enough as I strolled down the men’s size 10 aisle I immediately feasted my eyes on these beauties. If I had a photo on my vision board of what I wanted my perfect boots to look like they would look EXACTLY like this. And they are John Varvatos. And since they are at the Rack they were over 50% off. With all my long and deep posts lately I thought it might be time for something completely ridiculous and I think I’ve hit the nail on the head. Nuff said…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And Now For Something Completely Meaningless

  1. Doris says:

    Great find! Nice boots those rugged soles are prefect for the slippery sidewalks in Chicago.

Leave a Reply

