TTT Orlando – The Doors

il_340x270.467991392_af6bI just got back from sitting in the sun eating cashews and raisins during our one hour lunch break at Train the Trainer Orlando. It was possibly the most delicious meal I’ve ever eaten in my life. Earlier this morning a had a conversation with one of the Trailblazer panel speakers, Michael Stover. He was remarking that he hardly eats anything while at these conferences because he’s just not that hungry. I noted the same experience. I suggested that we are too busy feeding our souls to let other digestion get in the way.

Just now I had the privilege of working the doors for the second time in as many days at the conference. I got to work the doors on opening night as the new trainers arrived. After about a 100 or so hugs and at least as many high fives I was perhaps as joyful as I have ever been in my entire life. The intensity of the collective group energy was so high that I swear if you looked at my feet they would have been levitating at least three inches above the ground.

This afternoon when I worked the doors as people returned from lunch there was still great energy, still many hugs and high fives, but this time you could see people were digesting. Not so much their lunches, but rather they were digesting information. The buzz was a mindful and reflective buzz. Equally amazing. Totally different.

Since a few people arrived back from lunch late I had the job of staying in the hallway while Mike Dooley began the afternoon session. I just needed to make sure that everyone who entered after the session after it began did so quietly. After about 15 minutes when I was confident that everyone had returned from lunch I was free to go join up with the breakout session for returning trainers. As I grabbed my bag and got ready to dash off into that session I stopped in my tracks.

I was the only person in the hallway. In one room there were 150 new trainers listening to Mike talk about the path to trailblzer. In the other room across the hallway there were 60 or so returning trainers listening to Noell Eanes talk about Thoughts become Health. The raging energy of the night before and the subtle energy of the return from lunch had turned to utter silence. And there I stood in my own personal energy space having doled out and received hundreds of hugs and high fives.  And then I began weep. And then my tears turned in laughter of joy. I enjoyed the moment to it’s fullest. I sat down on a bench and I wrote this post. And then I headed into the breakout session already in progress.

When I walked into Noell’s presentation she was about 20 minutes in. She was talking about the two most common traits that are seen in people who live to 100 or longer. She had a visual up on the screen that stated that people who live to over 100 laugh more than the average person and that they don’t bottle up their feelings.  I just couldn’t possibly be more grateful for where I am at in my life now. Fifty years down and fifty to go? Let’s just say I like my chances…lately my chances always seem to be 100 percent!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TTT Orlando – The Doors

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    I will keep laughing and not keep my feelings bottled up -I do tend to talk a lot……Diane 100? I hope so–

Leave a Reply

