Boyhood – My Version – With a PBR

Here’s a collection of random things and a stream of consciousness that somehow seems to weave itself into a nifty little blog post. Follow along for fun…

Last night we watched Boyhood over a nice homemade dinner of roasted chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans and squash. For those of you who have seen the movie, neither of us hated on any squash or threw any glassware.

Back when I was a young boy, Pabst Blue Ribbon was a mainstream, popular beer. I can remember that my father would keep a six pack of cans of either Pabst or Budweiser for his occasional Saturday afternoon beer. Always ice cold. Always directly out of the can.

Back when I was a young boy health food/organic food markets were few and far between. The only people who might have shopped in a health food store would have been  1970’s hippies; people who did yoga even way back then. Those kind of people were few and far between back then too.

Over the years Pabst Blue Ribbon faded in popularity. In the early 1980’s the market was flooded by imported beers as our planet became more global. Small mid-quality domestic brands like Pabst, Stroh’s and Rheingold for example lost out to mega brewers with large advertising budgets.  By the time I arrived at The University of Michigan in 1982, I could buy a 24 bottle plastic crate of Pabst for $3.99 at Village Corner.

On the flip side health food stores were gaining popularity in the 1980’s as mainstream people became more aware of what they put in their bodies. In 1980 a new store named Whole Foods opened in Austin, Texas. It was the first of its kind  health food supermarket. At that time I was living in another haven of left wing liberal values called Ann Arbor, Michigan. I had a handful of nifty little organic food shops I could frequent. There wasn’t a store named Whole Foods in Ann Arbor at that point. There still wasn’t much yoga around either.

Fast forward to about 2002. Import beers have given way on store shelves to American craft brews. Small independent yoga studios are popping up all over the United States. I was the co-director of a yoga studio named Eight Limbs Yoga in Chicago, Illinois. Pabst Blue Ribbon was considered garbage swill and sold mostly in college towns and low income neighborhoods.

Arrive in 2015. It’s hard to throw a rock without hitting at least ten people who do yoga. Actually it’s hard to throw that rock without hitting someone who TEACHES yoga. Yoga has become a corporate venture. Chicagoland alone has over 25 yoga studios that are owned by large corporations. That rock would have hit me in that I’ve been teaching yoga for over 15 years. I’ve opened my own and sold out of my own studio named Enso, which still operates as Chicago’s premier martial arts studio. Whole Foods has become the most dominant force in health foods with over 360  super stores in the USA and the UK. None of that surprises me, but this does…

unnamed-6Somewhere along the way it became popular to drink Pabst Blue Ribbon again. How did that happen? You had a hard time giving that stuff away when I was in college. Now those who used to be called hippies are called hipsters. Pabst is sold in cans in all the trendy bars. And go figure when I walked into my local Whole Foods Market this morning I saw something that convinced me that everything in the Universe has a chance to happen. I saw floor display of Pabst Blue Ribbon cans right inside the front door of the Whole Foods Market! If this can happen then all changes are possible. Nothing has to fade away and never be seen again. Trends will come. Trends will go. But if Pabst Blue Ribbon which was near its death in 1980 and Whole Foods market which had its birth 1980 can become bedfellows well then the world is a place of infinite possibilities!!!

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boyhood – My Version – With a PBR

  1. PBR in Whole Foods! Who’d a thunk? I remember Ann Arbor pre-Whole Foods: the People’s Food Co-op, Arbor Farms (still surviving and kinda huge now). I don’t remember buying anything at VC except bourbon (BF was into it, and thus, a good GF, so pretended I). Everything old is new again!

  2. Diane Onixt says:

    Is the beer organic? Diane

Leave a Reply

