Dear Left Knee

I wanted to write and thank you for healing so quickly. When I cracked you on the corner of the acrylic coffee table on Tuesday morning after training, I had my doubts things would go as smoothly as they have. In fact it seems that I developed an acute case of Tourette’s syndrome immediately upon impact that morning. Fortunately my mind’s eye realized that all that negative thinking was only feeding energy to the injury so after about 30 seconds I healed myself of the Tourette’s.

I then went on to think about how well everything was going to go and how lucky I was that I hit the space between the ACL and the knee cap instead of directly on the knee cap or the patella tendon. I want to thank you for being understanding when I kept freezing you with ice for the next 24 hours. And just to let you know that heat thing you kept feeling from your friends the two hands is called Reiki. It works really well to speed healing and alleviate pain.

I feel that I should also take a moment to thank Mr. Coffee table. By crashing into my knee you forced me to slow down for a couple of days. I skipped training the last two mornings and got more sleep. Apparently I needed that because I’m feeling really good this morning. I also had to switch jobs with one of my fellow Maitre D’s on Tuesday and that was really neat. Instead of running around all over the place while he stood in the box and greeted people he ran all over the place and I stood in the box. We only work one shift a week together and that has never happened in seven years. The new perspective is valuable to both of us.

I’m going to give you one more morning to rest while I write you this note, dear knee, and then perhaps we will go to a yoga class tonight. If we do I’m sure things will be just like they always have been, with you supporting me and getting lots of good stretching and nourishment, especially in your favorite pose, virasana. That is all…

#lifewithjimsknee

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dear Left Knee

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    Glad to hear you used rest. Your schedule is amazing to me. You demonstrated the mind over tourette’s healed your knee. You have not hear from me for a while because I started to take the new Hepatitis C pill. I will take on pill a day for three months. Side effects are headaches (I have had none) and fatigue….I get tired about 2:00 p.m. everyday and sleep for about an hour. These pills are $1,000 a day-my cousin informed me if one falls in the toilet ,I have to retrieve it! Do think about you and your beautiful wife-I miss seeing you- Give me a chance and I will be in to see everyone. Diane

    • jimswhimz says:

      Diane I love when you comment on my blog. Sorry it took me a while to reply. I am busy but I do so love everything I do. More news coming in the Monday Morning Email tomorrow. Talk soon!!!

Leave a Reply

