Hay House

This morning I wake with a sense of anticipation. Actually I wake up every morning with a sense of anticipation. It’s just that on this morning that the sense of anticipation is even more overwhelming than normal. This morning I am also happy that I have learned that overwhelming is a word that doesn’t only have to be used in my therapist’s office. Overwhelmed these days most frequently comes as an expression of a wave of positive energy, emotions and lessons that I’m learning. I couldn’t be more grateful.

For pretty much my entire life I’ve had a dream of becoming a writer. I’ve already realized that dream. I’ve written hundreds of blog posts, a few dozen speeches, a smattering of short stories and have a couple of larger projects in the works. My best work is yet to come. Like all things we are working on in this human existence, there are opportunities to study and learn from great mentors. This weekend is one of those opportunities. I am grateful.

A few months back I set an intention to attend the Chicago Hay House writer’s workshop that begins today. My limiting belief was that I couldn’t afford to spend the money for the registration. Christiana and I already had the Orlando Infinite Possibilities trip on the schedule. We were also scrambling to put together money for the Paris trip we knew that we had to take this Spring for Easter to carry out our dear friend Richard’s final wish. In the back of my mind I had begun to dismiss the hope of going to the Hay House workshop and figured my day would come later.

Still all the while I kept thinking things like, “Boy Jim this is right in your hometown.” And then hearing things like The Universe speaking to me in the form of Mike Dooley, one of my primary mentors of late who is the keynote speaker at this weekend’s event. And then of course there’s that sledgehammer in the back of your head that is reminding me of the fact that I have major writing project that is about 50% done at the moment. Still I just couldn’t figure out where I could justify taking the money from for this event.

And then it happened. In a nearly impossible way, from the most unlikely source, in a tale that brings other chapters to a close that I can’t even begin to relate at the moment….the exact amount of money I needed to pay for the workshop appeared in an instant. Sent from God so to speak. I may tell that story someday and I may not. But what I AM doing for certain is that I am going to the Chicago Hay House writer’s workshop right now! I will emerge on the other side of this weekend with new skills and refinements. Let the new lessons begin! I am so ready!

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

