Here Comes the Flood

Let the adventure begin! We await our ride to the airport for our Sacred Journey to Paris. This morning I was torn between two things. One was attending Palm Sunday services at St. Mary’s By The Lake like which is what we did last year on Palm Sunday only days after Richard died. The other was to hug my amazing wife Christiana and watch her get a bit more rest in bed while I went out into the park that has become so Sacred to me over the last six months as my personal dojo and meditation temple. The Universe guided us well to option two.

Yesterday when we were pouring through our lists of things to do and packing I tried to decide what music I wanted to start the day. Peter Gabriel radio on Pandora was the selection I chose. Later in the day Christiana and I would alternate between individual choices of stations that always seemed to serve both of us well. While Peter Gabriel radio played the song Here Comes the Flood came on. It’s an old Gabriel solo song from his first solo album. I called out to Christiana in the living room that it was my all time favorite Peter Gabriel song. I then got a little teary eyed and felt something special in my heart. I had no idea what it meant, yet…

This morning I went out to the park I love so well and put on the playlist that I always listen to when I do my martial arts forms and yoga in the morning. And then I broke down into uncontrollable tears. I right then knew what the Flood was going to be. Now I’m no stranger to weeping. I do it all the time lately. I cry because I’m so joyful for the life we live. I cry because I miss my Dad and Richard and many others. I literally feel so deeply now and I couldn’t be more grateful.

I started to do a few forms and I just couldn’t stop weeping. I went back and forth between joy and sorrow and it just kept coming and coming. Then I looked down and saw a dead bird and I felt so sad that I had to do something. What I did was walk back to the garage and get a shovel so I could dig a hole and bury it. The little spirit needed a resting place.

unnamed-28I got a shovel and I dug a small hole right in front of my favorite pine tree and I put the little bird in a resting place and I marked it with a stick I had noticed that looked particularly nice to me. As I went back to my forms I began to notice a few other things. I noticed a Miller Lite bottle cap that had been flattened out to look like a gold broach or something of the like. I added it to the burial site. I noticed a piece of a branch of a tree that looked important. I added it to the site. I noticed some orange string and a red lighter and a few rocks that all seemed rather noticeable and added those to the growing altar. Ridiculous? Maybe….maybe very special to the little bird.

I then remembered that about four months ago I lost a key fob to my car that I looked for week after week before the snow. The snow had now melted and perhaps I was going to find it. I became convinced that Richard was making me notice all these things and that he was finally going to help me find that key fob. He was an expert at helping people open their eyes…

I never found the fob. I realized I had built a nice burial site and then I realized I found something even more important than key fob…I found the ability to open my eyes.

Yet another lesson Richard. Much Gratitude…Let the journey begin!

 

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here Comes the Flood

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    Beautiful post—-I will be at the restaurant on the 6th-I have to change my reservation.Will you be back then? Diane

  2. jimswhimz says:

    Hello Diane. We will not return until the 7th. Sorry to miss you.

    Much love

Leave a Reply

