Untethered

There’s a word that keeps coming up in my brain and in our conversations a lot lately. That word is Untethered. We are seeking a life that is more free from the limitations we set in  our own minds. We are seeking a life that is free to travel like we are doing right now. We are seeking a life that is free from debt like we are working on getting out of right now. We are seeking the freedom to live a life that is less attached to the boundaries that are set in our minds either by ourselves or by others. We are seeking the freedom to move through time and space understanding the Divine and true purpose of life…which is quite simply to just live it! We seek a life that is truly Untethered. That freedom we seek is so close I can feel it in every fiber of my being. I’m delirious with joy as I form that thought.

We began today with a full six hours of sleep. As ridiculous as that sounds I can truly say it is the first time in weeks I have slept six straight hours without interruption. My life back home is full. My life back home is rich. My life back home is busy. My mind when I am back home is vibrating at such a high level that I needed to come across the Atlantic Ocean for the second time in six months to level off a bit. How ironic is it that I’m in one of the most populous and intense cities in Universe and I’m operating at a pace slower than my normal pace back home? What can a say? Lesson in progress. Student’s eyes open.

As I write this I’m sitting in a cafe across the street from the fountains of Saint Michele. Millions of people visit this site every year. Right now I feel like the only person who has ever been here, yet at the same time I feel connected to every soul who has ever traveled here. I’m grateful to understand and experience this contrast.

In a little bit over 48 hours in Paris I have “done” many things, but the best thing that has happened is that I’ve let go of my life back Home. This tends to happen for me on trips to far away destinations. Never have I needed this let go more than I do this time around. Often when vacations wind down I get sad. I get sad that the experiences are ending. This time around even only 48 hours in I am already getting excited to go Home. This is way more than a vacation that is happening. This is the final chapters of a book of transformation in our lives. I am scintillated by what lies ahead for Jim and Christiana both individually and collectively.

There are many journeys and stories yet to be seen and told yet on this transformation yet though…

Today We met up with a fellow Ipppie, Marcie Mortenssen at a cafe near the Musee Rodin. We talked about Infinite Possibilities and our experiences in the Power of thought. Our time together made me realize that someday soon we may be Untethered enough to come and live in Paris on a visa to write and think for a while like she is doing right now. Lesson in progress. Student’s eyes open.

unnamed-30Today we visited the Musee Rodin gardens which was Richard’s top recommendation for the trip we made a little over three years ago. When we arrived in Paris that time we found the museum to be completely closed for renovation. We arrived today to find out that the gardens were open but the main exhibition is still closed for renovations. At first we were disappointed, but then we realized that we had just been given a guaranteed ticket for a return trip to Paris. We did get to see famous sculpture called The Thinker in the gardens. According to the artist himself the piece was a symbol of “hope and faith in humanity.” Talk about an example of the Power of Thought. This quest to see the Musee Rodin will not fail. It just needs more time to marinate. Lesson in progress. Student’s eyes open.

Today we tried to catch an RER train from the area of Les Invalides back to the area near Notre Dame so we could squeeze in a visit to Saint Chapelle as recommended by Marcie.  We just missed the train and would have had to wait 30 minutes for the next train. We saw that as a sign from the Universe to just go back closer to the hotel and relax a bit before our epic dinner out tonight at Le Taillevent, a three star Michelin restaurant near the Arc de Triomphe. The extra time allowed Christiana the chance to shop a bit. I got to slow down and sit in a cafe and have a beer. Lesson in progress. Student’s eyes open.

Today while I sat in that cafe I wrote a blog post on my iphone called Untethered. I thought I had saved it so I could go back to the hotel and clean it up and publish it before dinner. I did not save it. At first I was angry that I had wasted all that time. Then I realized that I had already enjoyed the experience of writing it while I sat in a Paris cafe and that experience can never be taken away from me unless I Tether myself to exactly what that blog post looked like as if it was the only version of the post that was possible.

Today I re-wrote a blog post with an ending that I never imagined in the first place and I couldn’t be more grateful. The possible endings are infinite, just like this transformational journey. Might I say I’m feeling a little bit more Untethered? Lesson in progress. Student’s eyes finally WIDE open….

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Untethered

  1. So glad to have spent the time together! And so happy to see in a later blog that you did get to St Chapelle. And even more excited that you can see the possibilities of the visa. Everything is in reach. Love life! Aimez la vie!

Leave a Reply

