Sandals

I had an interesting conversation with my Uber driver this morning. I usually have very interesting conversations with my Uber drivers. The funny thing is I entered the car this morning with some doubts and some limiting beliefs. Most of the cars that pick me up when I order an Uber are pretty nice vehicles. My car this morning was an older white Toyota with a huge scratch running down the passenger side. The windows were open and the driver was playing loud music. 

After I put in the address I wanted to travel to, I surveyed the inside of the car. It was basic. Older interior. No driver bling. You know what I mean by driver bling right? The fuzzy dice. The statue on the dashboard. The pictures of the family. 

The only thing this driver had in his entire vehicle was a plastic disc with a pair of blue and yellow sandals.  In an effort to strike up some conversation I asked him what sandals symbolized. 

I waited for his answer expecting him to say something profound about his spirtituality or his religious beliefs. Instead he pulled it out of the vent it was clipped to and said, “it’s just an air freshener…” I felt a bit silly and bit deflated. 

He then returned the volley and asked me what I thought of when I saw sandals. I paused for a minute and the I started to talk. 

I told him that I had been a lifelong martial artist and that it made me think of the ancient masters who would wear sandals with metal strips on the bottom to strengthen their legs. I told him they made me think of comfort because sandals are always the most comfortable pair of foot ware you own. I have no idea where this came from but this is what I said next: 

“It makes me think of walking the path with humility. It makes me think of just staying on the path regardless of the circumstances while wearing the most basic of shoes on your feet. It makes me think that all the greatest spiritual teachers of all time have worn sandals. The Buddha. Jesus. Gandhi. Many others. All of them. It doesn’t matter what you believe or what faith you follow. It’s always been the same…”

The driver listened intently. We were approaching my destination and I felt bad for hijacking the entire back end of our conversation. I said, “I’m sorry I should have given you more time to talk. Before I get out of the car did you have anything you wanted to add?”

He said he really enjoyed our conversation and he had nothing to add but that he wanted to ask me a question. I told him to please ask. He then asked me a question that I never would have expected him to ask. He asked me this:

“Just out of curiosity what kind of shoes are you wearing today Jim?” 

He used my name. He had it from my Uber order. I looked down at my feet an noticed I was wearing sandals. I told him. He then looked over his right shoulder and said, “thanks for the lesson…I’m just saying….”

The whole thing lasted less than ten minutes. The messages keep coming. I am so grateful…

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sandals

  1. garry says:

    your stories draw me in……I read it to the end. I don’t think you ever have a boring day. Ha!

    • jimswhimz says:

      Thanks Garry. My life is so rich indeed. I can only thank the magical serendipity of merging into the Slabaugh trajectory as part of the richness of my life story….

Leave a Reply

