Return to Tara

It’s 7:00 a.m. in Ireland. I should probably still be sleeping. I am not. I sit steps away from the Newgrange Monument and I am choosing between spending my hour of solitude in the morning either writing or practicing my forms outside. This post announces my decision.

There are a trinity of Sacred sites that encircle the area I am staying at on this leg of the journey. Over the next few days I will visit and share time with Newgrange, Loughcrew and the Hill of Tara. The Hill of Tara is the site that started this whole possibility in our lives. It’s unimaginable to me that this all started just a year ago, give or take a couple of days.

Last night we sat on the grounds art the Spirit of Folk festival at the Dunderry Shamanic center. We heard live music, listened to drum circles and watched children run around with cardboard swords enacting battles of days gone by. We listened to master storytellers tell Irish tales about Finn McCool while we sat in a candle lit cave. We drank wine and beer and ate from food trucks run by people from all over the globe. We felt connected to the earth that we sat on, and we held good craic – which in Gaelic means conversation.

During one conversation, one of our fellow pilgrims asked if the Hill of Tara was in any way connected to the Tara of the famous novel and movie Gone with the Wind.

I had never given that question even one thought before yesterday. As it turns out, the character Scarlett O’hara is of Irish descent and when she talks of her return to Tara she clutches the soil and recites one of the most famous movie quotes of all time:

1f6e3cd309d6aa8034243fbf41836dcf“As God is my witness, as God is my witness they’re not going to lick me. I’m going to live through this and when it’s all over, I’ll never be hungry again. No, nor any of my folk. If I have to lie, steal, cheat or kill. As God is my witness, I’ll never be hungry again.”

I will not lie, steal or cheat, but today I will return to my Tara when we leave to visit the Hill in a few hours. One year ago Christiana and I happened across a little know sacred site in County Meath, Ireland called the Hill of Tara. I had discovered it only days before our journey began when I Googled the words, “Ireland’s Energy Vortices”.

When we visited Tara on the fourth day of our journey last year we knew nothing about its history and we had no idea that it would become such a large part of our lives going forward. The moment we stepped on the Hill we were entranced by its energy and its power. I have often described my feelings of being on the Hill as, “Being stuck in quicksand and having no fear of the outcome.”

The Hill is home to cairns that served as passage tombs for the dead to transition into there future lives. The Hill served as home to the High King of Ireland from 1000 BC until the rule of the final High King of Ireland, a one Brian Boru, around 1000 AD. The Hill is sparkling with the energy of fairies and pixies and the famous Hawthorne trees that dot the Hill are quite literally portals to another dimension.

Last year we left the Hill after four hours longing to stay for a lifetime. We had other destinations on our trip. We had other appointments that needed to be kept. I had hoped to return to Hill one more time last year but it never happened. That is a story that has been told a few times back home in Chicago and it is a story for another post.

We did manage to connect with the Hill one more time last year though. We connected with the Hill the day we met of new friend Rob Hayes, the Shaman I have written about on more than one occasion. When we walked into Rob’s County Clare home he offered us a cup of tea brewed from the leaves of the Hawthorne trees on the Hill of Tara. That magical serendipity cemented our return to Tara as not just a possibility, but a certainty.

unnamed-1So today, one year later, Christiana and I return to Tara. This time we do not do so as wandering tourists. Today we do so as invited guests. Today we will teach an abbreviated version of our program Empower Yourself & Create Your Life to an audience at the Open Studio on the Hill of Tara. We are part of a full day program that includes our workshop for the first half of the day and Archangel mediations in the evening.

A year ago I had no idea if I would ever even return it the Hill of Tara in this lifetime. Within one year of that thought, we will be facilitators on one of the most Sacred sites I have experienced on this planet.

What are the odds that this outcome was even remotely possible? In a world where everything is exactly as it is supposed to be all the time, I would say that those odds are 100%!

Stay tuned…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Return to Tara

  1. Congrats to you and Christiana, Jim! This sounds like an amazing experience, and someday I hope to dance on the Hill with you both!

    – Anthony, fellow Ippie and Space-Time Adventurer

  2. Nirodaigh says:

    Well done, sounds very special.

Leave a Reply

