Going Back to the Beginning

Less than four years ago I gathered up my courage to start writing a blog. I had no idea what direction it might head in, but I thought up the name Jimswhimz and registered at WordPress. I wrote my about page and set it up live and then I promptly wrote nothing for about 6 months. It was a trip to Paris in the Fall of 2011 that helped me launch the idea of sharing my writing. The experiences I was having in those moments in Paris like seeing the Eiffel tower and the Mona Lisa for the first time gave me confidence. It was in those moments that I was finally inspired to believe that the way I saw, interpreted and wrote was worthy of sharing.

Combine that confidence in my writing with the fact that it was on the Paris trip that Christiana knew once and for all in our hearts that we were headed towards marriage. I’d say it was the first of many transformational journeys we would and will take together. Over the next few years I dabbled on and off with my writings. Whenever I traveled I found I had the most time and the best material so I would post nearly everyday. Until this trip.

unnamed-3Our trip to Ireland this time has provided me with more material to write about than any of my previous travel, yet I have had neither the time nor the inclination to write about any of it. I crafted one post on the plane ride over and posted it from the Dublin airport. As I sit here on day eleven of our voyage I can’t even remember if I posted anything else. I’d go back and check if I did, but I haven’t even been on the Internet for three days now. In fact the time I have spent on the Internet at all for the entire 11 days has been minimal. The last three days while I have been completely off the grid have been a tonic for my soul that I never might have allowed if it hadn’t been forced in by the winds of higher power. I am grateful.

Christiana and I have holed up in cottage at a small seaside village named Fanore in County Clare. We are taking our last few days to process, transition and do little else. It is a silence that I deserve. It is a silence I require. It is silence that I understand is quite literally the calm before the storm of abundance when we return home.

I have a half written blog called Double Rainbow from a morning in Galway City four or five days back. I woke up this morning with the intention of finishing the story and posting it, but then I realized that a different plan was in order. I decided I needed to go all the way back to the beginning and tell the whole story from start to finish as best as my memory would allow me to even though my words would pale in relation to the experiences. I will do my best. I’m not sure what I will call this story when all the chapters are written. If it were just my story I would perhaps call it The Budding Shaman Awakens. That title may or may not survive until the publishing since so many other people’s stories are intertwined.

I have come to know many things on this pilgrimage. When these writings are finished I will know two more. What it is to be called and that it is done. I press on…

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Back to the Beginning

  1. Pingback: Mountains of the Witch/Goddess | Jim's Whimz

Leave a Reply

