The Shift Begins

In all great tales there are at least a few shifts. As it relates to our entire existence, human history and civilization, we are undergoing a massive shift in human consciousness. That is a larger story than I can blog about in this one little post. As the shift relates relates to our trip to Ireland, I started to feel it on the morning of day three.

The first two days of our journey were appropriately focused on transitioning our energies from the routine of our everyday lives to a place where our hearts and souls were open to the possibility of transformation. Our bar hopping and shopping in Dublin started the shift from one culture to the next. Our night at the Spirit of Folk festival set the table energetically for a journey into the world of fairies and legends. I’m actually quite proud of us for having the intuition to know to plan the trip that way even though it was not done with any specific intention.

Before I continue I’d like to take a moment to consider the word transformation. I was doing some reading this morning before I began to write and I ran across the writings of a famous sound healer named Tom Kenyon. He notes that the Latin root of the word transformation ties together the word form, meaning he structure of something and the word trans, meaning to move beyond. Thus the word transformation doesn’t simply mean change as I had always thought, but rather it means something larger such as moving beyond the physical state of being into someone or something that is not limited by perceived physical limitations. Food for thought.

Back to the tale at hand. On day three of Ancient Ireland I awoke buzzing with excitement. I was excited because we were about to return to the Hill of Tara for the first time on the trip and also because we were about to lead our first international workshop. Both of those possibilities were beyond my wildest dreams one year ago, yet the both manifested themselves powerfully into our lives.

I had missed the opportunity for my morning workout on the first to days of the trip so I was anxious to find a place outdoors to do some martial arts and yoga. I remembered that there was a little hill on the opposite side of the car park at our lodgings in the Newgrange Lodge. I put on my workout attire and grabbed a light jacket and rushed to the hill. When I walked up the small staircase from the car park to the hill I immediately saw a large expanse of green grass, some play structures like swings and such, as well as an archery range. Then I looked over to my right to the bigger hills in the distance and saw the famous Newgrange Monument.

Over the years I have sought out places connected to the earth, the heavens and spirit for my morning practice. As a result I have found some unbelievable places to connect with the spiritual side of my practice. On this morning I was about to blow the roof of all possibilities. I was about to do my practice at the foot of a passage tomb that was built by Neolithic farmers between 3300 and 2900 BC.

unnamed-10The Newgrange monument is a passage tomb that is older than the Great Pyramid at Giza. This particular passage tomb is the size of small basketball arena. To offer some perspective, the photo included shows the south half of the structure and the blue dot at the base of the tomb is a full size tractor. The tomb has a narrow passage way that leads to a central chamber. The passage way  and internal chamber combine to form the shape of a cruciform. The passage is also built so that on the morning of the Winter Solstice at sunrise, a single beam of light shines through the roof box, up the passage way and into the center of the chamber for 6 minutes. And all of this was figured out over 5000 years ago. Hmm?

Suffice it to say that my practice was particularly delightful on the morning of the shift. The air was cool and clean. The sun came out for a visit behind my back as I faced Newgrange. The grass was soft and dry. I couldn’t have felt more connected to Mother Earth at anyplace else on her surface. After my practice it was off to the Hill of Tara to lead our half day workshop about Thoughts, Visualization and Taking Action. A mini day of Infinite Possibilities if you will.

unnamed-11Our attendees were a group of Irish locals who do work with our friend, co-host and healer Rob Hayes. Added to the mix were the Americans who traveled with us to tour the Ancient Sites. I can’t possibly think of a better venue either physically or energetically to conduct a workshop. We had the great good fortune to use the art studio of Courtney Davis, a well know Celtic artist. I use my words well and I can’t begin to think of words to use to describe his work. The best thing I can recommend to understand a bit about Courtney’s work is to take a peek at this link.

Before we started the workshop at 10:30 a.m. Irish time, which means 11:00 a.m., we had a chance to wander around the Hill of Tara itself. It was just a year and a few days ago that the Hill of Tara became our introduction to Ancient Ireland. Here is an excerpt from what I wrote that afternoon a year ago:

“thus began our journey through some of the most powerful vibrations I have felt in my lifetime. We walked barefoot on the hills and absorbed the energy of thousands of years and millions of souls. We sat underneath a wishing tree that by legend is a portal to pixies and fairies of ancient Irish lore. We earthed ourselves in the sheep fields by lying flat along the ground for what seemed like hours but was probably only minutes. Most of the time we found ourselves completely alone as the sparse amount of other less interested tourists came and went quickly. Every once in a while a small group would pass through. One group came with a guide so we got the benefit of hearing some stories. Each time we were alone though the sun seemed to peek out from behind the clouds as if to re-assure us that the hill, the tree and the spirits were happy that we were taking the time to savor.

It was hard to pull ourselves away from the tremendous energy of the Hill of Tara but eventually we managed and as we did so I realized that it was only a few days ago that I’d ever heard of this place. On a whim before we left I Googled, “Irish energy vortices” and came up with a Youtube video of a couple who were at the Hill of Tara in the middle of winter on one of the coldest days in an Irish winter. They were all by themselves. I thought to myself, “I really would love to have that experience minus the cold weather!”

So in the middle of September on a perfect fall day, Christiana and I got our moments of time alone with the Hill of Tara just like that other couple got minus the cold weather. As we left I accidentally turned the wrong way out of the parking lot and before I could turn around Christiana said, “Look there’s the well that the one guide was talking about.” We stopped the car, this time with my conquering my haste to move on. We made one last wish in the well and I’m fairly certain that the rest of our journey will be followed by the required amount of Irish pixies along the way.”

Our serendipitous encounter with the Hill of Tara last year changed the course of our lives more than I can possibly describe. It led us to consider the link between Ancient Celtic History and our own spirituality. It introduced us to our fascination with hawthorne trees and their healing properties both physically and energetically. It eventually led us to our connection with Rob Hayes, the healer who would invite us to come back to Ireland for this current trip. To be teaching a workshop in Ireland is prize enough, but to be teaching on the grounds of this sacred site is a reality that exceeded any dream either Christiana or I could possibly conjure up.

After our workshop and a late afternoon lunch break we re-convened at the art studio for the second half of our magical day. In the evening session Rob led us in a Healing Circle connecting and aligning with the Angels and Sacred Ancestors of Tara. As night fell over the Hill of Tara we connected individuals from two cultures into one group. We sang, we meditated and we drummed.  We bridged all lines of time and space all the way back to the Ancients. We did sage smudging. We aligned with the Ancients and the Angels and the Heavens and Mother Earth.

FullSizeRender-2The ceremony drew to a close and we all hugged and said our goodbyes. As we left the Tara Open Studio I grabbed an Events Newsletter from the rack at the door. We and walked back out into the crisp night air and Christina and I took a short stroll back towards the healing well at Tara. We didn’t walk all the way to the well but just far enough that we could have a moment alone. The light of the moon lit the sky just enough so I could look at the newsletter and open up to the page of the full day event we just facilitated with Rob. At the bottom of the page I read these words:

“Jim and Christiana are an international speaking, teaching and coaching husband and wife team from Chicago in the US…”

Well yes, Dear Universe I suppose we are! When I think of the places that our lives have taken us in the last 13 months I am often overwhelmed by the amount of change we have experienced. When I come to think of it though, it isn’t merely a change that Christiana and I are undergoing. It truly is more of a transformation. We are moving into a state that is not limited by perceived physical limitations. In other words I guess you could say we continue our travels into a place of Infinite Possibilities…

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

