The Well Traveled Apples

As many of you know, we traveled to San Antonio two weekends ago to be a part of our fourth Infinite possibilities-Train the Trainer conference. Over the last 13 months we have traveled to these conferences completely under prepared, completely over prepared and everything in between. This last time I think we nailed it just right. We took the right amount of clothes, the right amount of shoes, the right number of protein bars and most importantly we were well rested and healthy. 

I’d say we used all the things we took with us, except for those 5 honeycrisp apples. On the morning of our departure I was rounding up a few loose ends after yoga class. I stopped at the Whole Foods on the way home to get a juice and I decided to grab a few apples. I already had some organic almond butter headed my way via the state of Florida that my friend Deb bought for me at Target. Deb lives in Minnesota but she was traveling to San Antonio from Florida after a trip to Mexico. I don’t really know why I’m telling you this or why I needed her to bring me almond butter from Florida instead of the kind I could buy in Chicago. It’s all pretty ridiculous, but no more ridiculous than the journey of the apples. 

  
Well anyways the hotel we stayed at in San Antonio had this awesome breakfast buffet that had baskets of fruit so we never really needed to eat the five honeycrisp apples that traveled with us to Texas via Chicago to meet up with the almond butter that traveled to us from Florida with the woman from Minnesota. Boy this is tiring. 

I considered leaving the apples in San Antonio, but I was afraid that they might get thrown out. I’m trying to be more conscious of not wasting food. I’m learning this from a mentor of mine named Kelly. She’s really awesome and appreciates the little things in life in a way I never quite have. That’s a whole different story though. 

So I brought the apples back to Chicago from Texas. I intended to eat one of then with the almond butter from Florida, but then I kind of got busy. Life happened. Life happens to me a lot. I’m doing a better job of saving space for myself, but I don’t always take the time to eat an apple. 

Last weekend I intended to take the apples to our place in Michigan, but I forgot. As a result I had to buy two new apples. The store didn’t have honeycrisp. The ones I bought were only okay. I sure wished I had the ones from Chicago/Texas. 

On Wedneday we made a last minute decision to fly to Georgia this weekend. We are going to support a dear friend who is launching her speaking career. Her name is Wendy. She is one of the most remarkable souls I’ve ever met. You will all know about her someday. Trust me in this one. It’s kind of a big deal. Wendy actually knows the lady from Minnesota named Deb very well too. I’m not sure if Wendy is bringing me any almond butter. I’m guessing no. Wendy lives in Oregon and I’m not sure what the Targets in Oregon stock in the nut butter aisles. It’s okay though. This time I brought my own almond butter. It’s some of the stuff I had left over from Texas via Florida. 

Since we made the decision to go to Georgia last minute I didn’t have much time to shop. As I was packing a snack this morning I noticed the apples in the crisper drawer of the fridge. I grabbed two of them along with some hard boiled eggs and some rice cakes. I’ve been on a bit of a cleanse but that a whole ‘nother story still! 

So now the apples that were purchased in Chicago and traveled to Texas to meet the almond butter from Florida are once again on their way into the air where they will quite possibly be eaten in the state of Georgia. That is of course unless I run into a bowl of peaches….

I’d tell you about how  I might share them with the friends who are coming in to Georgia from Kentucky and Alabama, but that might make things confusing and extend the story even further. I’ve already named nearly 20% of the states in our country already! 

Well anyways,  time to run. Final boarding call for our flight to Atlanta. I’ll have to break the news to the apples that they can’t watch the mechanics on the runway any longer. The apples will soon visit their third state in two weeks. I wonder if they came from the state of Washington originally. That could make four? Well they will for sure make it to Georgia though. I’m just not sure if it will be in my backpack or in my stomach…

  

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Well Traveled Apples

  1. Diane Onixt says:

    Hi-those apples got a lot of air miles! I will be at Joe’s for Dinner on Monday. It a first time with my neighbor-he has a girlfriend, but he was been very kind to me-so I asked him to dinner. Where else but Joe’s? If you stay late I can say hello. I miss Joe’s……….Diane Onixt-do I know any of the night managers?

Leave a Reply

