Love Can Heal

Last night when we arrived at our fifth row seats for the Peter Gabriel/Sting concert at the United Center in Chicago, I had a fleeting moment where I thought that I was at my first concert ever.

Now mind you I didn’t say that I felt like I was at my first concert ever. I said that my thought was that I was actually at my first concert ever…

I wonder why that thought formed?

There were so many things last night that were not like my first concert ever. I didn’t have to wait in line all night to get tickets from a record store. I didn’t have to sit so far from the stage that I needed binoculars. I didn’t have to sneak my camera into the show in my cowboy boots to get past security. I didn’t have to ask an older person to buy us our beers. I didn’t have to eat hot dogs from the concession stand with those beers. In fact we ate sirloin steak and drank cabernet at the Stadium’s dining club instead…..no this was very much not like my first concert ever, which by the way I have no recollection of so don’t bother asking.

I think the reason the thought formed that I was at my first concert ever was because of these two things…

#1 Everything in the Universe is shifting,  and #2 I’m not sleepwalking through my life anymore…

Over the past couple of years and in the last few months in particular I have seen so many shifts. One of the greatest shifts I’m seeing on our planet right now is the shift where people are pairing up and helping each other (and the planet itself) heal more and more often. One of my greatest Spiritual teachers talks about the concept of pairing up all the time. Last night’s show could not have been a better example of that shift playing out on a large stage.

Here were two musicians that have enjoyed fame on the highest level both individually and as members of their respective bands – Genesis and the Police. Here were two musicians who are still very much at the top of their crafts creatively and artistically. Here were two musicians that have worked tirelessly for human rights causes throughout their entire careers. Here were two musicians who could have easily sold out the United Center on their own but they instead decided to work together.

unnamed-12What I saw none of last night was any Ego…

What I saw a ton of last night was Joy in the collaborative effort on stage…

What I saw none of last night was any Anger at the state of humankind….

What I saw a ton of last night was Hope for the future even as there was room for reflection about those who have surrendered their lives for the cause of human rights….

Many came to the show last night expecting to hear a Gabriel song titled Biko in memory anti-aparthied activist Stephen Biko who was murdered in a South African prison in September of 1977. Gabriel has often closed his performances with Biko as the last encore. The song has powerful percussion and piercing vocals that tell the story of Biko’s murder and make a call for solidarity in the cause of human rights. My favorite line in the song is when Gabriel sings, “You can blow out a candle, but you can’t blow out a fire…once the flames begin to catch, the wind will blow it high…”

For the first time in the twenty or so times I’ve seen him perform live, Gabriel did not perform Biko last night.

unnamed-11Instead, around the mid-point of the show Gabriel quietly snuck in the only new song in the entire set for either performer. It was a song in remembrance of a woman named Jo Cox who was a British Labor Party politician who was murdered outside a library in West Yorkshire just a month ago in a targeted attack. Cox had worked for the humanitarian organization named Oxfam in her earlier years. Gabriel met Cox at a leadership meeting gathering just a few years back. Like he has many times in his brilliant career, Gabriel paid his tribute to her last night with his words. What struck me the most about Gabriel’s tribute to Jo Cox was the title of the new song. It was a lovely song with melodious keyboards, no strong percussion and angelic sounding backing vocals. Very different than the song he wrote for Stephen Biko.

The name of this new song for Jo Cox is “Love Can Heal”

To those on our planet who say our world is in a sad state and there is no hope because so many can only see the differences and are full of fear and hate….I offer this alternate interpretation of the Illusion we are moving through.

Love Can Heal…Everything!

Each day more and more Stephen Bikos and Jill Coxes and Peter Gabriels and Stings step into the light and more and more people say we need to work together not individually. Each day more and more humans surrender a little bit more of their ego and make room for love in their hearts instead of fear. In my mind, it can only be matter of time before the entire planet is on board with the concept that there is nothing to fear at all.

Some might say that my views are easier to hold from my very comfortable “fifth row seat” in the stadium of life. Yes indeed, neither I nor anyone in my immediate circle have ever been subject to any of the human rights atrocities that have occurred throughout time on this planet. That being said, if we are all one doesn’t it mean that we are all wounded by the fear, anger and hate of others? In my current and more awakened state, I am so grateful to be able to make my own choices. When I see things in the news like I saw last month in Orlando or last week in Dallas, instead of choosing to feel wounded, I choose to remember that the shift is in full force now. As with all shifts there may be the need to experience pain…and there will be those who are wounded….but the good news Love can heal…Love can in fact heal anything and everything.

So last night I went to this amazing concert for the first time in my amazing new life. It reminded me that everyday has the chance to be a re-birth. It reminded me that everyday we have a chance to work together. It reminded me that everyday we can be a little less centered on ourselves than on the greater good. It reminded that no matter how much we or anyone on our planet may feel wounded…that there is always hope. That hope comes in the deep sense of knowing that Love can heal…

You can blow out a candle, but you can’t blow out a fire…

In my heart I also know that you can build a dam to restrain the flow of the river, but no man made structure can restrain the current of a tidal wave. How lucky are we to live in a Universe that is spawning a new tidal wave of Love.

Let’s all head to the shore and surf the in tidal wave of Love. It’s only a matter of time…

 

Wanna hear more thoughts like these? Sign up for our once a week Monday newsletter at http://www.emergingintojoy.com 

 

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love Can Heal

  1. Jim, this message is amazing. Your best blog to-date. My favorite is: “As with all shifts there may be the need to experience pain…and there will be those who are wounded….but the good news Love can heal…Love can in fact heal anything and everything.”

  2. Wendy Isaac says:

    “What I saw a ton of last night was Joy in the collaborative effort on stage…” Divine that this will be the most amazing and powerful way we shall all serve in these coming times. Love to you jim and all that you do!! ❤

  3. Jim,

    I love this post and insight.

    Each day and in every moment we get to choose to be the light that fills the world around us with love. Or to hide in the darkness of not being strong enough to carry the light.

    I’m choosing to carry the light, some days it’s only a glimmer, yet it is always bright enough to light the path of someone suffering around me.

    Blessings my friend.

    Mark Offenbacher

  4. How beautiful and uplifting and on a day when I needed so much to hear this message. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

