On this Night…

Over the last month and a half I have been posting thoughts from my daily meditations on Facebook under the title of “On this Day…” It has been a way for me to share and create content in a period where my blogging has been a bit stagnant, but my heart and mind have been open and flowing. The posts have been short reflections that take no more than five minutes to create. They have been well received and I will gather them together in a collection at some point for those of you who do not access Facebook.

As I sit in silence on this Christmas Eve I thought I would return to my blog with a post called “On this Night…” My thoughts are in honor of the Spirit of the season and my evolving feelings as a human being having a Spiritual experience in this lifetime. Here it is!

One this night….

We celebrate the birth of a Consciousness. The Christ Consciousness. The Christ Consciousness knows no boundaries of race or creed or geography. Regardless of your feelings about religion there is one absolute Truth that extends through all of humankind. That Truth is that we are all Love!

In my lifetime I have had an evolving relationship with religion. I have traveled the path for many of the early years of my life as a Christian yet I have always been more intrigued with the similarities between the various paths of Faith than the differences. Those curiosities have opened my eyes to the teachings of many great Spiritual teachers that have walked the earth through the ages.

310-300x336As I explore the Way, I have read the words of the Buddha, Lao-Tzu, Jesus, Gichin Funakoshi, Babaji, Paramahansa, Charles Fillmore, Lord Krishna, Don Miguel Ruiz, Joel Goldsmith, Krishnamurthi, Confucius, Patanjali, Mohammed, Gurdjeff, Gandhi, Wayne Dyer and so many others.

From my many years in martial arts I heard the famous parable of Confucius himself, who said, “Rabbit that chases too many tails catches none…”

I would have to counter by saying that if the rabbit explores many paths and realizes in the end that they are all the same that the awakening is the powerful!

For the first fifty years of my life I searched high and low for the evidence of the Oneness. My journey was about me and I wanted nothing more than to find my own hope, my own peace, my own joy and my own faith. The search has come with many great rewards. I have an amazing life. I have an infinite number of friends and loved ones. I have abundance beyond anything I could have ever dreamed of. The only piece that was missing after that fifty year search was a deep love of myself. At age fifty I still found myself feeling very lost and very alone despite the many blessings I had enjoyed. I found myself wondering what my purpose was and why I had yet to find that ultimate prize of bliss and contentment.

Then through a series of blessed coincidences and some deep reflection I have realized something very important in the last two and a half years. I realized that if my search continued to be predominantly about ME, that I would continue to create separation between myself and the Divine. When there is a separation between me and the Divine there is a separation between me and all beings both on the human side of the veil and the Spirit side of the veil. I have lived a life full of love. I have loving parents who taught me about love and made me feel loved beyond measure. I have a twin flame in Christiana and have had many other loved ones in the past who have served as examples of love and how to love. Still I somehow managed to build walls around my heart.

Mind you I do recognize that I have traveled the path as a loving and caring human being. I’ve lived a good life. I’d like to think I’ve given as much as I have received. Many have told me through all times that they appreciate what I have done for them and that they are blessed to have known me and my love in this lifetime.

That being said, everything started to shift for me when I realized the difference between love and unconditional love. When we build walls around our heart we are most certainly still capable of giving and receiving love. The only caveat is that we often attach consequences or conditions to our ability to give and receive love. Have you ever found yourself feeling pride for the loving action you offered to another human? Have you ever asked for a certain conditional expectation before you gave your love? Haver you ever guilted or shamed someone for not seeing and feeling the exact same thing that you saw or felt? I know that I have and at times I still do. I accept that I am a work in progress, but the less I focus on my own path to hope, peace, joy and faith the better probability that I can truly understand love. The journey is not about my own physical destination in this lifetime, but rather the unified enlightenment of all of humanity. It is that awakening that has afforded me the ability to take the first step in understanding unconditional love.

If you have read the words of any of the great Masters that I mentioned earlier in this post the underlying Truth in everything they taught is simple to understand. That Truth is that in order to ascend to there highest plateaus of Consciousness and reach the Divine Kingdom, we must do only one thing. Give our own Love to all without condition!

So on this night as so many celebrate the honorary birth of The Christ, is my greatest joy to celebrate all that IS. I am grateful for the countless number of mentors who have chosen to cross my path and help me find my Way. My previous inability to hear the message had nothing to do with the quality of the message that was offered to me, but rather my inability to understand how to listen. I may have spent a lifetime listening with my ears and hearing nothing, but when I opened my heart I was finally awakened enough to hear that the message was always the same.

That message is this….

We are Love. We are not fear. We are not shame. We are not guilt. We are not less than. We are not hate. We are not separate from the Divine. We are Love. When we learn to love without condition we open the floodgates to an Infinite power that delivers bliss beyond measure.

Can you feel it? Can you feel the awakening and the re-birth on this special night? Do you see the shift coming? It is when we truly open our hearts to all the possibilities that the power of love will overtake the love of power. The external circumstances of the right now are merely a blip on the radar of humanity.

On this night I celebrate the birth of an awakening of humanity’s collective Consciousness. There are no boundaries. There is no separation. There is only Love…

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

