My Very Own Mary Tyler Moore

“Love is all around, no need to waste it…”

As a young boy I would hum the tune of the Mary Tyler Moore show. I was a bit too young to be allowed to watch the show in its first few seasons. In the later seasons, I would watch with my mom and then even later still, we would watch the reruns in syndication. I never really thought much about the words to the song back then. Now those words are as iconic as the “hat toss” which is rated by Entertainment Weekly as the #2 moment in 1970’s television history.

the_mary_tyler_moore_show_intro__hat_toss__by_jamesviayoutube-d707kfuI loved watching the Mary Tyler Moore show with my mom. A lot of what the character Mary Richards embodied, my mom taught me in the example of the way she lived and still lives her life. To me though, back then, Mary Richards was everything you wanted to have in a cool aunt or your Dad’s awesome personal assistant – although I’m pretty sure the term was secretary back then. At the time I wasn’t even really sure why I was so attracted to Mary Tyler Moore and the character she played on the show. With forty years of hindsight it’s as clear to me as the sunrise I’m looking at out my sliding glass door in Michigan on this stunning morning. I loved Mary Richards because she embodied so many of the qualities I would grow to seek in the woman of my dreams later in my life – even if I didn’t have the wisdom to recognize it way back then. Mary was kind. Mary was determined. Mary was a change maker. Mary was vulnerable. Mary was encouraging. Mary was goofy. Mary was brave. Mary was forgiving. To me Mary was Love with a capital letter L.

Not surprisingly I have been deeply moved by her transition. But like so many who have crossed over the the other side of the veil, Mary moves closer to me now than she ever could have been before. There is a way to “know” someone so much more deeply when they are unencumbered by their human entrapments and limitations, isn’t there? Believe what you wish about spirit and soul and humanity, but in my Universe there can be no other possibility than the possibility to have dialogue with the multitude of angels on the other side. Over the course of this weekend I enjoyed starting to get to know the Mary on the other side.

I had the opportunity to moderate a healing circle this Saturday and the focus of the circle was acceptance. It was a powerful circle. Those who choose to participate can work on a plethora of different things. Some people work on healing from a death or divorce. Some are working on letting go of baggage from things that no longer serve them. Others are coming to terms with current circumstances that they may not prefer. At the end of the workshop we get to write letters to the person or thing we are trying to connect with as we practice the art of letting go and accepting. I wrote my letter to Mary Tyler Moore/Mary Richards.

In the letter I thanked her for all the work she did to help humanity raise our collective vibration. I thanked her for being an embodiment of Love with a capital letter L. Then I asked her to support and empower the people of today – particularly the people who are incarnated as women – as we all work through this period of social change and advocate for all of humanities rights. Interesting how much our current time in human history  looks a bit like the early to mid 1960s, isn’t it? Then as I closed my letter to Mary, I said:

“Please send more women like you so that we can increase the size of the collective of angels doing the work together….”

What happened next as I finished writing those words was as if I had been hit in the middle of my heart by one of Cupid’s very own arrows. The message I got was as clear as the sunrise I mentioned earlier in this post. Mary said to me:

“Take note that you already walk the path of your own life every single day with one of these angels you speak of. She’s at your very side…” 

As a young boy I dreamed of being a change maker. I dreamed of having a life partner that was perfectly aligned to help me become the most that I could be. In some ways, my schoolboy crush on Mary Richards was the beginning of a manifestation that would come to reality many years down the road. When I think of my twin flame Christiana, I think of words like kindness, determination, vulnerability, goofiness and bravery. Just like Mary. She has taught me to be better at all of those things and I continue to be a student in her loving hands.

Who can turn the world on with her smile? It’s my very own Mary Tyler Moore – Christiana Herbert. How lucky am I…

In times of great change, great change makers step forward, sometimes side by side. I believe in the power of the collective and walk with confidence towards that place of healing that we all seek.

Love is all around no need to save it….

We can heal the world, why don’t we face it….

We’re going to make it after all…

We’re going to make it after all…

 

 

 

About Jim Herbert

I've been wanting to write my whole life. By age 45 it had amounted to nothing more than a storage locker of half full journals and a lot of unfulfilled dreams. Then Paris in the fall of 2011 happened. It was the catalyst I needed to consistently blog. At first I had a hard time hitting the publish button, but now two blog sites and over 300 posts later I'm hitting my stride. I'm also a budding speech writer. I've recently been heavily involved in the Chicago Storytelling scene and have also won the Chicago Toastmasters Area 66 International Speech Contest. Check out our website at www.emergingintojoy.com for more details about the amazing things that are happening in my life. A book or two are nearing completion. With another Paris trip on tap for Easter of 2015 I can only imagine that there are Infinite Possibilities on the horizon!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

